EMSI Rethinking Language and Eloquence

Saturday, October 23 at 9:00am to 2:45pm

This is a past event.
Virtual Event

A colloquium co-sponsored by the
USC-Huntington Early Modern Studies Institute and the
Center for Renaissance and Reformation Studies, University of Toronto

Friday, October 22, 2021

Ethan Matt Kavaler and Peter C. Mancall
Welcome
8:45am PT (11:45am ET)

Carole Shammas, University of Southern California
"The Switch to the Vernacular, Eloquence, and the Latin Grammar Schoolmaster"
9am PT (12pm ET)

Ethan Matt Kavaler, University of Toronto
"Pieter Bruegel’s Netherlandish Proverbs as Critique of Popular Wisdom"
9:30am PT (12:30pm ET)

Paul Cohen, University of Toronto
"Rethinking Antonio de Nebrija and the Relationship Between States, Empires, and Languages in the Early Modern Atlantic World"
10:20am PT (1:20pm ET)

Harrison Diskin, University of Southern California
"Eloquent Matter: Objects as Rhetoric in the 17th-Century Dutch Atlantic?"
10:50am PT (1:50pm ET)

Adam Gilbert, University of Southern California
"Hidden Eloquence in Fifteenth-Century French Chansons"
11:40am PT (2:40pm ET)

Andrea Walkden, University of Toronto
"Du Bartas and the Language of Creational Things"
12:10pm PT (3:10pm ET)

Amanda Ruud, Valparaiso University
“‘Runne you to the Rhetoricians?’: Believing in Apostrophe in The Winter’s Tale
1pm PT (4pm ET)

Deanne Williams, York University
“What did girls say when they spoke on early English stages?”
1:30pm PT (4:30pm PT)

Heidi Brayman, University of California Riverside
"'Dumb Eloquence': Silence and Signing in Early Modern England"
2:15pm PT (5:15pm ET)

Lynne Magnusson, University of Toronto
"Everyday Eloquence and Language Change: Let-constructions in Antony and Cleopatra"
2:45pm PT (5:45pm ET)

Saturday, October 23, 2021

Philip Sohm, University of Toronto
"Writing the Act of Painting: Early Modern Poietic Picture Titles"
9am PT (12pm ET)

Sophia Nuñez, University of Southern California
"Anatomies of Eloquence: The Body, Soul, and Clothing of Texts”
9:30am PT (12:30pm ET)

Emily R Anderson, University of Southern California
“Eloquence Matters: The Materiality of Text and Image in Early Modern Printed Books”
10:20am PT (1:20pm ET)

Misha Teramura, University of Toronto
“The Cacographic Renaissance: Reading and Not Reading in English Manuscript Culture”
10:50am PT (1:50pm ET)

George Aaron Broadwell, University of Florida, and Alejandra Dubcovsky, University of California Riverside
"'I will not Divide or Give it,' Timucua Language and Power”
11:40am PT (2:40pm ET)

Konrad Eisenbichler, University of Toronto
“When 'The Truth of Christ' is Wrong: Wrong Language in a Sixteenth-Century Manuscript”
12:10pm PT (3:30pm ET)

Frederic Clark, University of Southern California
“Periodizing Eloquence: The Ages of Latin Literature in Early Modern Humanism”
1pm PT (4pm ET)

Samantha Chang, University of Toronto
“If Not Saint Luke, Then Who? Women's Self-Portraits in Early Modern Europe”
1:30pm PT (4:30pm PT)

Heather James, University of Southern California
"The Truth of Eloquence: Parrhesia and the Forms of Fiction"
2pm PT (5pm ET)

Closing Remarks
2:30pm PT (5:30pm ET)

 

 

Dial-In Information

Please note this is an Online Zoom event. 

Register via Zoom.

Event Type

Lecture / Talk / Workshop, Event Highlights

Tags

academics

Department
Early Modern Studies Institute (EMSI)
Hashtag

#History

Add this to your calendar

Recent Activity